For Freedom

It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery. Galatians 5:1

Hello Reader!

This is my first post on this shiny new blog, but, as some of you may know, this is certainly not my first time voyaging into the swirling black hole that is the blogging universe. When I was twelve, I started my first blog which I dubbed The Peanut Gallery. The Peanut Gallery, my brain dump of rants, reviews, and middle-school rambles, was my wonderful home for two years. At fourteen, I bid adieu to my polka-dotted themes and angst-ridden posts for the sleek clearness and come-learn-with-me! posts of The Pink Cave. There, I learned to love blogging for the sake of blogging. I met young writers like myself. I experienced the struggles and joys of publishing through the amazing Five Enchanted Roses experience. The Pink Cave will always hold a dear place in my heart, just like it’s namesake.

Its namesake was my childhood bedroom. As a young teenager, I went through a phase of intensely trying to prove that I could be feminine. My room is painted bright pink, decorated with translucent pink curtains, a pink bedspread, pink furniture, pink polka-dots that would put even The Peanut Gallery to shame. It is so pink that when the door is shut and the lights are on, a pink glow shines beneath the crack beneath the door. And the door is often shut. As a quiet and bookish girl, I spent many secluded hours reading, writing, and blogging in that pink room- which effectively became a cave once it attained such a hermit.

I don’t live in The Pink Cave anymore. I’m almost twenty years old. I’m almost halfway through college. In the past two years, I have lived, for various lengths of time, in two dorms, an apartment, an apartment on the other side of the world, and in the pink cave, which is more of a pink hotel at this point. Living in new locations changes you, but not nearly as much as the experiences the changes in location imply.

Put less eloquently (obnoxiously?), The Pink Cave does not reflect me anymore.The subjects that fascinate me, the purpose of my writing endeavors, even my own voice have so drastically changed that I could not find a way to remedy the discrepancy between the girl obsessed with personality quizzes, the girl writing novels to discover her thoughts, and the girl who was cautiously peering into the ever-endless pool of Christ’s grace with the woman memorizing syllogisms for fun, the woman writing short stories with intentions to submit to magazines, and, most importantly, the woman completely in awe of the mystery and glory and depth and danger and reflections of the Gospel.

I would not change the pink cave, or The Pink Cave, for anything. Though I prefer my adultish blues and browns to pinks and purples now, I would also prefer my childhood bedroom remain as is. It’s comforting and lovely to feel like a girl every once and a while. Though I love the community and hours spent with The Pink Cave, it’s time to move to a new location and start a new adventure. The subjects I want to write about, the purpose and medium of my writing, and even some of my beliefs on various topics are all different. It’s exciting to let go of the past and move on because there is freedom in the beginning of something new.

As with all subjects, God knows this best. We were set free through the gift of grace offered to us through Jesus Christ. There is new life and new beginning. The old is gone, the new has come. Believe me, I fully intend to expound on this subject throughout the course of this blog. It’s my favorite subject now.

Other subjects of interest which you, Reader, if you brave the thoughtful, subtly dramatic, sardonic, and arguably unhinged mind that is me, will have the privilege (unfortunate happenstance?) of exploring are stories, philosophy, logic, feminism, geek culture, politics, art, science, and the connections between any and all of the above. So, prepare for everything. It’s going to be fun. I hope you stay with me, especially if you have stayed with me through The Pink Cave, and maybe even through The Peanut Gallery (you know who you are!).

I have posts in mind that I hope you find as interesting and exciting as I do. I have adventures in mind that I hope you find as compelling and purposeful as I do. Most importantly, I have freedom that I hope you, either already or someday, come to find as marvelous and indescribable as I do.

All of that said, I would love to hear from you! How are you all? What have you been up to? Have you have any unexpected parties, Starfleet graduations, or texts from 221B Baker St.? Please, let me know!

P.S. This is my first time using WordPress instead of Blogger. I like it so far, but I’m still learning how to navigate and arrange this blog. If you have any tips or suggestions, please tell me!

4 thoughts on “For Freedom

  1. Beautifully expressed. I have loved the privilege of getting to watch you “grow up” as it were, and I look forward to reading more of your journey here. You have become such a beautiful, thoughtful young woman. To paraphrase one of my favorite movies, “Sandy Bottom Orchestra” – “You are growing up the Kaycee B. way… and it is beautiful to watch.”

    We miss you! (We should video chat again sometime soon, it’s been far too long! Have you seen the newest season of Sherlock? Because “AAAAAHHHHHH!”)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your kind words, but especially for sticking with me throughout all of those years, blogs, rants, and rambles! I have not been able to keep up with blogging too much, but I think I have handle on this whole college thing now, so I’ll be interacting again soon! I can’t wait to catch up on all of the blog posts I have missed from you!

      And YES! We need to video chat! And YESS! I did see Sherlock S4 and I desperately need to talk about it. So much happened… I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

